08
Aug
10

Raw fish, the new Lebanese trend

Lebanese have been known to popularize things that  were already present a long time ago but for some unknown reason “halla2 woslotlon”.  Like the bingo wave that hit Lebanon a couple of years ago, everybody gets hyped up about it and it is everywhere you go (noticeable uprising of a big number of sushi joints across Lebanon, making it accessible and convenient) . Not only that, but it hits almost all age groups, and you end up being part of it all whether you like it or not! I am not a fish lover myself, i usually have my own special meal while the whole family eats fish. But raw fish? who would have imagined! Yes i confess, i am a sushi lover and i enjoy every bit of its amphibian rawness. how and why remains unknown, just like how it has become one of the “main courses” of the middle and high societies of Lebanon. I would expect this trend to die out in a couple of years time, since there has a been a cyclical trend pattern which has clearly appeared over the years. The question is, what’s next?

34 Responses to “Raw fish, the new Lebanese trend”


  1. 1 Figo29
    August 8, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Great self criticism. Hats off. Brave. But the question is: how did you end up loving sushi? By peer pressure? Word of mouth? Or just tried it and liked it?

    • August 8, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      I just tried and liked! ofcourse there was a little peer pressure, it is always the case here in Lebanon. In fact i tried it 3 times before i truly made my decision!

  2. August 8, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Don’t like it, never did, and now it’s like sandwiches — sold in every supermarket. Can’t understand why one would have raw fish instead of sultan, for example. But hey, life and let live. Yalla, more blogs… you’ve caught the bug!!! 🙂

    • August 8, 2010 at 6:54 pm

      That’s the thing1 you either love it! or hate it! go figure! but yea they sell like crackers now and its always the talk of the town when it comes to food!
      hehehe thanks for your lovely support mich!! 😀

  3. August 8, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    but that sushi trend’s been there for a long time in lebanon… remember SLSHI and Jean Luc’s Sushi jokes? it’s still around

    • August 8, 2010 at 6:57 pm

      Very true! but never has it been so trendy! i mean its sushi sushi sushi everywhere i go now! like i said it has always been around but it has been very apparent lately.

  4. 7 jennifer
    August 8, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    wasn’t a fan till i recently tried it and became an addict with a bit peer pressure 😀 i felt like trying it to see what’s the big deal with sushi! and now i’m a new addict 😀

  5. 11 @Battikhbaladeh
    August 8, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Great u opened this subject… u can also mention that the “sushi wave” attacked the Lebanese society violently:
    -Always the 1st date will be in a sushi restorant… For him: to impress her more/ For her: to meet the prestige requirements.
    -Most Lebanese complain about paying ‘that’ much for a plate in Kabji but no body complains about paying “That That” much in a sushi restorant… Walawww, we’re eating sushi.
    – #justwondering Why in sushi restorant you always hear ppl talking either in frensh or in english??! Well, in order to be sofesticated, they must speak Japaneese!

    For me I used to do all my 1st dates in a sushi restorants… and seems not to be the best place to start a relationship. I used to complain about Kabaji’s meal prices until Kabji was my favorit restorant in Kuwait. And for now I stopped (or minimized) using frensh in sushi restos… I’m not liking this combination :S

    Thx my friend for this space of freedom… Keep posting and INNOVATE 🙂

    • August 8, 2010 at 7:23 pm

      Im loving your feedback and yes you have made important points! thanks a lot for your continuous support 🙂 i think im getting the hang of it! looking forward to posting more!

  6. 13 Zouz
    August 8, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    If we consider sushi to the Japanese is like Kebbe Nayyeh to the Lebanese, I wonder if the former would make such a fuss about Kebbe :D!
    I’m trying to figure out what was the previous food trend here, Italian!! No I guess it was Chinese food. So If we follow the pattern I think next will be Filipinos food! Well I’m in for the try as long as it has no cats’ or dogs’ meat :/ Maybe then Filipinos domestic workers will be seen from a different perspective and us Lebanese can really put discrimination aside and get to know their culture!!

    Loving the post 🙂 food will always be the #1 subject for all people 😀
    Keep’em coming

    • August 8, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      In my opinion Lebanon makes the most fuss about foreign products, a fuss i think other country wouldn’t consider making on anything we have ( well except falafel maybe :P) but yes food remains the #1 subject for all people 😀 thank you a lot for your support, i really appreciate you reading and commenting 😀

  7. August 8, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    SUSHI!!!!! i tried it for the first time with friends at osaka! didn’t like it that much… then one day i decided to go and visit Le Yen and i guess there was my initiation to Sushi addiction!
    then i tried almost like 5 other places! couldn’t find anyone better! but WOK WOK was at the same level! fresh, pro and delicious!

    well let’s move to lebanese (7araket) lol, i actually am proud of being Lebanese but… one major thing i hate about almost all of them and that doesn’t apply to me!!! PRESTIGE!!! i know people that eat sushi just for prestige purposes because it is expensive and sophisticated… they don’t eat it for the crave of food… and that is for me bullshit!

    Well i love sushi as i love teble and mloukhiyye and also macheweee 3al fahem! and i guess one more thing i can say about lebanese!!! (el lebnene bi7ebb batno) menne w jerr! LOL
    and btw i ate sushi today at O&C not that bad!

    • August 8, 2010 at 10:57 pm

      hahaha 😀 well first of all i agree 100% about the “prestige” issue, and this will remain an issue in the Lebanese society. Second of all ana kamen b7ebb batneh w bi 2ouweh kamen 😛 😀
      Thanks for the comment 😀

  8. 17 BeirutiAdventures
    August 8, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Before I say anything, I’m gonna mention I will try sushi now. As a fellow fish hater, I too had the special meals prepared for me everytime fish was on the menu at home. So since we were in the same boat and you liked it, ill give it a try! Haha
    Now, I like how you mentioned these quickly appearing-quickly dissapearing fads and trends that creep their way into Lebanon. It’s like the movies, where something quicky becomes the it thing, and then quickly dropped for something else. It’s part of lebanon’s wackyness! Whenever I come acorss a crazy fad in beirut, I used to always ask “what next”, I quickly learned to expect the unexpected! The bingo and karaoke phase still shocks me!
    Great post, enjoyed it!!!

    • August 8, 2010 at 11:14 pm

      Yes! i highly encourage you to do that! And don’t judge the first time! try again and again till you are sure of your decision! and tell me of course what you think…how about write about your first experience!
      As for the fads, yes it is a visible pattern and i forgot to mention the karaoke one which was an important one as well!
      so yea…always ask yourself what’s next!
      thank you for commenting and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  9. August 8, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Hahaha I love your style in critisicm! I hope I don’t repeat already said comments, but I agree I suppose it got to be a trend! Lebanese love all thast is hip, stylish annnnd expensive :p
    I myself love fish in all its shape. And sushi tops it off. Nchalla chi nhar bi battel trend w bi sir more accessible :p

  10. August 9, 2010 at 2:27 am

    I’m late there’s nothing left to say, I wanted to say something similar to G. Zamroud I agree with him. Well the good thing abt sushi is that it’s extremely healthy, so I guess it’s good to have it as a trend, maybe 3al sushi a couple of years from now lebs will invent the next state of the art HiFi system and silver-ray or whatever disc, yeah and a car that never breaks if it falls bijoura half the size of lebanon.

  11. August 9, 2010 at 8:53 am

    CONFESSION: I love sushi, and Im a vegetarian! so basically I eat khiyar and avocado with rice! But I still love it. As for the restaurant trends in Lebanon, if they have a flying restaurant, anything is possible. I think next, it will be one of those “exotic” restaurants that serves bugs, and people will go crazy for it.

    Keep posting Nadim!

    🙂

    Dana

  12. 27 KJ
    August 9, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuushiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii *Homer Simpson style*

  13. 29 Woody
    August 9, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Lol you know me, I even consider going to japan just to have sushi.
    Anyway I’ll be ordering sushi tonight and will twitpic.

    + yes…. I LOVE RAW FISH

    Good post

    Notice the ferraris in Lebanon? Do you consider this a trend?
    I see ferraris here more than in Canada and USA!

    Ghareeb Hal balad hehe

    • August 9, 2010 at 11:43 am

      hahaha 100000% you’ll go to Mars for it! 😛 sa7tein!! and thank you i’ve been having good criticism these 2 days and im very happy!
      as for the ferraris! yes! 3am shuf one like every day! in lots of colors!
      you got one thing right…Ghareeb hal balad 😛

  14. August 9, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    enjoyed it

    and i have to confess that i m in this wave

  15. 33 meinlebanon
    August 9, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    The next big trend? Irish pubs and sports bars..there aren’t enough of those around!!!


Leave a Reply

My Tweets (Follow me! ^_^)

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 2,767 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


